Greek Smoothie. Two Words. Two Ingredients!

7

April 18, 2012 by RaesOfSunshine

Yes, I’m Argentinian.

But, when it comes to breakfast,

I’m so Greek.

Well…

I’m addicted to Greek Yogurt! This energy packed yogurt is thick, tart, full of protein…kind of reminds me of my PINK post.

You caught me.

Thick, tart, full of protein

This could only mean, smoothie creation time. Not just any smoothie, a two-ingredient smoothie that will literally change your life banish the idea of being “too busy for breakfast.”

Protein-Packed Fruit Smoothie

Two Ingredients (!!)

1 6oz Greek Yogurt

1 c frozen fruit

Optional- Ice

Optional- Almond milk if you like thinner smoothies

It seems like an obvious mix, but it’s perfect.

**I choose the flavored greek yogurts. If you use plain greek yogurt and don’t love sour yogurt, you may want to mix in between 1 tsp and 1tbsp of raw honey into the yogurt first.

Smoothie trick: Pop your frozen fruit into the microwave for 20-30 seconds to just soften. No more chunks in your straw or pieces of fruit stuck in the blade…yet still thick & smooth.

Fruit Ideas:

  • Frozen strawberries
  • Frozen pineapple
  • Frozen berries
  • Frozen blueberries
  • Frozen cranberries
  • Frozen peaches
  • Whatever fruit you have on hand that you enjoy, frozen surprised?

I have used all these fruits separately or in combinations – yum.

Don’t judge me, I have one of these almost everyday.

Which combination next?

Old-fashioned blender? $. Frozen Peaches & Strawberry Greek Yogurt? priceless. delicious.

Impressive? Easy.

Okay, my tribute to smoothies is over for now.

But.

There is always a but…

Here is a quick shout-out to my favorite flavor combination:

Blood orange greek yogurt & frozen strawberries and ice cubes blended in at the end.

6:57p.m.

Blogging in the evening is a bad idea.

I just had dinner.

But…

My blender is calling my name ;)

To a beautiful sunset & praying that tomorrow will be a smoothie-drinking April day full of raesofsunshine!

Nutrition Facts
*6 oz nonfat strawberry greek yogurt & 1 cup frozen strawberries
Amount Per Serving: 1 Smoothie
Calories 190
Total Fat 0.0g
Cholesterol 0mg
Sodium 65mg
Total Carbohydrates 33.1g
Dietary Fiber 4.0g
Sugars 28.0g
Protein 13.9g
Vitamin A 0% Vitamin C 92%
Calcium 22% Iron 4%

7 thoughts on “Greek Smoothie. Two Words. Two Ingredients!

  1. Haven’t tried smoothies with greek yoghurt yet, way to go! Thanks for the tip ;)

  2. Ann Lut says:

    I buy my chobani plain and add brown sugar. The texture and taste is amazing. Can’t wait to make this one too!

    • I usually add honey, never tried brown sugar. I’ll need to try that with frozen blueberries and a pinch of cinnamon, I wonder if it will taste like a frozen blueberry pie! :)

Comments? Requests? Questions?